So, I learned an important lesson about Publishing content in the Future. This post was supposed to post middle of last week, but I accidentally set the date for November 11th, 2012. I discovered my mistake and rectified the issue. But it is posting now (11-13-11). Sigh. I can’t win.

Happy Veteran’s Day!! I hope that you remember to take the time to Thank a Veteran for their service and Thank God for the many freedoms he has bestowed on those that live in the US. When was the last time that you thanked God for them and didn’t complain about the freedoms? It’s a humbling thought. For example, I periodically complain about the democratic government instead of being thankful that it can be changed. Just something to think about.

Also, Sunday is the International Day of Prayer, focusing on the Persecuted Church. Check out Voice of the Martyrs page on it.  Remember to pray for our brothers in persecuted church abroad. “Remember those in prison as if you were their fellow prisoners, and those who are mistreated as if you yourselves were suffering.” Hebrews 13:3

My post today is a reflection on Exodus 2:23-25 and 3:7-8. Both passages talk about God seeing the afflictions of the people of Israel, hearing their groaning under their taskmasters and their cries for deliverance, God remembering his covenant with his people. The end of 2:25 was the starkest to me though, “and God knew.” Later in 3:7, the author specifies the God knew their sufferings. I found immense comfort when I read this, for several reasons:

1. God hears us and sees us in our times of distress. He sees us always, but this seems terribly important to remember when one is in the midst of suffering. He hears our fervent prayers and cries of distress. He sees us in the situations. And he cares. How do I know he cares?

2. Because he Remembers his covenants. When God makes a covenant with his people he swears by himself that he will do something. This is an immense comfort when we feel we are alone, as we are promised in Scripture that God will never leave nor forsake us. It also says that God catches our tears in a bottle, or records them in a scroll (depending on your translation of Psalm 56). The point is that he is present in our suffering, and he has promised that he will walk with us, individually and corporately.

3. God Knows. How does God know our suffering? Well, I think in two ways: first he knows it in the Death of Christ. Christ suffered one of the most horrible deaths imaginable. He was tortured physically. God died (Somehow, I am not interested in the philosophical debates of this phenomena). But worse, he also held the wrath of God for sins of the world, from all of time. He who knew no sin took all of the shame, guilt and rottenness of man’s sins. That in and of itself would be excruciating emotionally. But that also meant that somehow the eternal bonds of fellowship forged between Father, Son and Spirit were “severed.” God cannot abide sin in his presence, and the Son became Sin on our behalf. God the Father turned his back on God the Son. The Son was utterly Forsaken. “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” I can’t even begin to fathom that. But I gather that it was intense suffering. Therefore, we have a God who knows. He knows our suffering. He knows our temptations. We have a God who knows. A God who knew the Israelites, and a God who presently knows his people. Praise God for his infinite Mercy and Grace.

Grace and Peace.

