November is National Adoption Month, so, may you rejoice in the glorious truth that you have been adopted into the Family of God if you have received Christ as your Savior. Remember those who are Fatherless in this world, both in a physical and a spiritual sense and pray for them.

Note about blogging in general: My schedule turned out to be more crazy than I anticipated, so I am going to lump in Calvin Reflections with my bi-weekly spiritual reflections posts. This should help promote sleep, which turns out to be pretty important. 🙂

For this week, here are some thought provoking and interesting stuff I came across.

First, my Dad received a book from a friend by Tullian Tchividjian called “Jesus + Nothing = Everything,” and from what I have read of the book, it is fantastic. I highly recommend it. I have not read the whole thing, but from what I have, it is well worth getting your hands on and reading, soon! Here is a review of it from The Gospel Coalition, and a promo for it by the author.

Second, here is a thoughtful post on the importance of being still, for calm and for introspection and reflection. It seems that in our modern culture, we are constantly driven to do more things, be more things, achieve more things, etc. I think that its important to remember that stillness and rest is a Spiritual Discipline, and that it shows a dependence upon God. To not rest is to suggest that you can do it all and can rely totally upon yourself. We periodically need to rest and remember that God is the one who sustains us, apart from him, we can do nothing.

This next link is (again) from The Gospel Coalition. If you don’t already, go read their stuff, it’s utterly fantastic. This post is on the Problem of Poverty and the Hope of Glory. Its an insightful post on the fact that because of sin “we will always have the poor among us.” But it also notes that poverty is about much more than just money, there is a poverty of soul that feeds many of the social ills of our day. The article also reminds us to Hope for the day when poverty will be ended, in Glory at the coming of our Savior. Maranatha, Come quickly Lord Jesus.

This link is one that I am thoroughly excited about. Its an interview with Shai Linne on TGC about his new Rap Album “The Attributes of God.” I have listened to some of it and its some pretty solid stuff. When I have the money to purchase the whole album, I plan to do so. There is a link to listen to one of the songs right in the review and its worth it. Even if you are not particularly into rap, its solid theology, so its well worth a listen.

I subscribe to quite a few blogs, and this one is one that I like to provide some perspective that often contrasts with my own. I like a lot of what he has to say, particularly on the treatment of women in society. This post is a provocative, thoughtful piece on the Dangers of being a woman in our society. It also has links to a promo for a documentary called “Miss Representation,” which I would recommend looking at, but a fair warning to my male friends, its not made by Christians, so there is some rather explicit content in it (video and pictures). It is likely stuff that one would see on a regular basis if you consume any amount of media, but that doesn’t make it any less provocative. I would rather you guard your eyes and minds than hear the message of it… Cho does a pretty good job of summarizing the content in his Blog Post.

This last link caught my eye because it is *kind of what the honors program that I participated in at Biola did. It’s not exactly what happened, since the professors often taught their strengths as well as their weaknesses, but it was an interesting philosophy of education, one worth highlighting for people to think about.

That’s it for this week. Enjoy. Let me know what you think of some of them.

Grace and Peace.

